Health Academy Hosts Undergraduate Teaching Awards

Over 50 guests received a warm welcome to The Health Academy for Lancashire Teaching Hospitals’ annual Undergraduate Teaching Awards Ceremony to celebrate student and staff achievements from the 2020/2021 academic year.

The evening celebrates the efforts of both clinical and non-clinical staff members who make a clear impact throughout the year.

Each year sees over 260 University of Manchester medical students based on placement across years three, four and five of their MBChB Degree in Medicine.

A total of 13 awards were presented on the evening including ‘Best On-Line Teaching Session’, ‘Best Non-Clinical Staff Member’ and ‘Student Choice Award’.

The majority of winners were chosen by students on placement with selected other awards being based on merit or academic excellence.

The evening was hosted by the Hospital Dean for medical education Professor Madhavi Paladugu and included guest appearances from hospital leadership including Karen Swindley, Strategy, Workforce and Education Director and Kerry Hemsworth, Head of Education.

Talking about the successful evening, Professor Madhavi Paladugu, Hospital Dean, said: “At Lancashire Teaching Hospitals we pride ourselves on consistently delivering high standards of teaching.

“It has been a challenging 2 years for everyone, despite the challenges we have had, the commitment to support and enhance students’ learning experience by each and every one is commendable.

“These awards are a real celebration of the fantastic achievements and outstanding effort of all those involved in Undergraduate Medical Education.

“I am very proud of the hard work and dedication of those who work tirelessly to provide our students with a positive learning experience throughout the unique academic year 2020-21.”


  • Best Clinical Teaching
    Mr Nigel Scott
  • Best Nurse/Allied Health Professional/Midwife
    Holly Hood, Physician Associate,
  • Best Teaching Placement, Year 5
    MAU led by Dr Sarah Abdelati, Dr Munish Batra & Dr Faiyaz Mohammed
  • Best Teaching Placement, Year 4
    MSK Health led by Ms Charlotte Cross & Ann Smith
  • Best Teaching Placement, Year 3
    Critical Care led by Dr Sudhindra Kulkarni
  • Best TCD Facilitator, Year 3
    Dr Madelena Stauss
  • Best TCD Facilitator, Year 4
    Dr Simon Belderbos (LSCFT)
  • Best Non-Clinical Staff Member
    Ruth Fleet, Pharmacy
  • Best FY1/FY2 doctor involved in UG Teaching
    Dr Daniel Trussier
  • Student Achievement – Yr 3
    Joshua Bugden
  • Student Achievement – Yr 4
    Samy El Omda
  • Student Choice Award
    Dr Madelena Stauss
  • Best Online Teaching
    MSK Consolidation teaching by Ms Charlotte Cross and Holly Hood